Open Letter To The Prime Minister And Chancellor On The Loan Charge

July 2021

Dear Prime Minister and Chancellor,

We are writing, as Parliamentarians who remain very concerned about the Loan Charge and its inevitable devastating impact on thousands of UK families. If the Government does not act to instruct HMRC to change course, then we are fearful of what the consequences will be when HMRC enforce the Loan Charge.

New information has come to light that further highlights the injustice people are facing that should lead to the Government accepting that further changes are needed, both to avoid the otherwise disastrous consequences of allowing HMRC to enforce the Loan Charge and to bring a fair and just resolution to what remains a deeply controversial policy.

Three very significant things have been revealed by recent Freedom of Information requests:

1. That HMRC tried and failed to find legal precedent for them being permitted to pursue individuals, rather than employers

First Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive of HMRC Jim Harra has admitted (<u>in an internal email to senior colleagues</u>) "In recent months I have repeatedly tried to obtain legal analysis to understand the strength of our claim with very little success".

- This undermines the claim that that the Loan Charge is based on the outcome of legal cases. The
 reality is that the Supreme Court judgment in the Glasgow Rangers' case in 2017, often wrongly
 cited as legal precedent for the Loan Charge, deemed employers to be liable for any tax deemed
 to be avoided. This decision did not give HMRC the right to directly pursue individual contractors.
- It also fundamentally undermines the conclusion of the Morse report, which claimed 'the law was always clear' from December 2010, when HMRC themselves can't prove that.

2. It was HMRC who came up with the idea of the Loan Charge, not the Treasury

Ministers should decide policy, yet HMRC developed the idea of the Loan Charge and proposed it in advice to Treasury ministers in September 2015. It is also clear that HMRC proposed the Loan Charge as they had failed to win court cases allowing them to pursue individuals, which is the opposite of the impression given.

3. Even HMRC realise that the Loan Charge is a "debacle".

First Permanent Secretary and <u>Chief Executive Jim Harra calls it the "Loan Charge debacle".</u> He is right and this has gone on for long enough and needs a proper, reasonable solution to resolve this debacle and end the nightmare for thousands of UK families.

The need for a fair resolution to avoid thousands of bankruptcies

Most people facing the Loan Charge are clearly <u>victims of mis-selling</u>, having been assured that schemes were fully compliant and given no warning by advisers and scheme promoters of any risk.

There have been no convictions and no prosecutions of anyone for promoting/operating loan schemes nor have promoters/operators of schemes been asked to pay a penny, despite making millions.

If HMRC enforce the Loan Charge, it will inevitably lead to thousands of bankruptcies, which makes no sense at all, each one has a cost to the taxpayer and in many cases, for many affected, being declared bankrupt will prevent them from working again or paying any taxes. We are also concerned about the mental health impact, with the fact that there have been suicides of people facing the Loan Charge previously.

We urge you to finally accept that the Loan Charge is not fair and to consider all options to resolve this issue, fairly and practically, once and for all, to end this nightmare for tens of thousands of UK families but also to get HMRC out of the situation they are in, having failed to predict the impact of the Loan Charge. We hope that the Government will explore all options for resolving 'the Loan Charge debacle' which would finally allow the Government, parliamentarians and families affected, to move on.

Yours sincerely,

Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP

Mohammad Yasin MP Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP **Greg Smith MP** Dr Matthew Offord MP Dr Lisa Cameron MP Stewart McDonald MP **Baroness Meacher** John McNally MP Crispin Blunt MP Alan Brown MP Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP Ian Paisley MP Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP Richard Thomson MP Allan Dorans MP Angela Crawley MP Ben Lake MP Sarah Olney MP Marion Fellows MP Christine Jardine MP Carla Lockhart MP Kenny MacAskill MP Henry Smith MP Wendy Chamberlain MP Neale Hanvey MP Colum Eastwood MP Jamie Stone MP Andrew Rosindell MP Tim Farron MP Tommy Sheppard MP Drew Hendry MP Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Andy Slaughter MP Wera Hobhouse MP Desmond Swayne MP **Baroness Kramer** Margaret Ferrier MP Gavin Newlands MP Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP Layla Moran MP Gavin Robinson MP Owen Thompson MP Chris Stephens MP Christina Rees MP Liz Saville Roberts MP Hywel Williams MP Munira Wilson MP Angus B MacNeil MP Paul Girvan MP Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP **Daisy Cooper MP** Neil Coyle MP Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Andrew Gwynne MP **Gregory Campbell MP** Stephen Metcalfe MP Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith Derek Thomas MP Chris Law MP Jim Shannon MP Adam Holloway MP David Jones MP **Graham Stringer MP** Philip Hollobone MP Ben Everritt MP Peter Bone MP Deirdre Brock MP Jon Cruddas MP Amy Callaghan MP Dan Carden MP William Wragg MP Claire Hanna MP Geraint Davies MP Rosie Cooper MP Sir Peter Bottomley MP Andrew Bridgen MP Carol Monaghan MP Alison Thewlis MP Fiona Bruce MP Dave Doogan MP Brendan O'Hara MP Grahame Morris MP Ronnie Cowan MP James Gray MP Stephen Hammond MP Martyn Day MP Hannah Bardell MP Sir Bob Neill MP

Lord Sharkey

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP **Baroness Bowles** Steven Bonnar MP Douglas Chapman MP

Clive Lewis MP

Emma Lewell-Buck MP Stephen Flynn MP Patrick Grady MP Paul Blomfield MP Rt Hon David Davis MP John McDonnell MP Tony Lloyd MP

Stuart McDonald MP Pete Wishart MP John Cryer MP Barry Sheerman MP Marsha De Cordova MP

Simon Fell MP

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Lord Dholakia Caroline Lucas MP Gordon Henderson MP Anne McLaughlin MP Philip Davies MP Sir Roger Gale MP

Martin Docherty-Hughes MP

Rupa Huq MP Emma Hardy MP Karl Turner MP Claudia Webbe MP Christian Wakeford MP

Sarah Green MP Mhairi Black MP Alyn Smith MP Zarah Sultana MP David Linden MP Martin Vickers MP Virendra Sharma MP Dr Philippa Whitford MP

Kirsten Oswald MP Rosie Duffield MP John Nicolson MP Sir Graham Brady MP Ben Bradshaw MP Kim Johnson MP Ian Mearns MP Derek Twigg MP

Rt Hon Dame Diana Johnson MP

Royston Smith MP Jonathan Edwards MP

Julie Elliott MP Mary Kelly Foy MP