Open Letter to the Prime Minister and Chancellor regarding The Loan Charge

January 2023

Dear Rishi and Jeremy,

We are writing as concerned Parliamentarians regarding the deeply controversial Loan Charge urging you to agree to seek a resolution to the whole issue, knowing that there have been ten suicides of people facing action from HMRC related to the Loan Charge. The tenth suicide was confirmed in a letter from First Permanent Secretary and CEO of HMRC Jim Harra to the Treasury Select Committee in January 2023.

If the Government does not act to instruct HMRC to change course, we are fearful of what the consequences will be as thousands of people simply cannot pay the huge sums being demanded. The survey conducted by the Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG showed that there is a real risk of more suicides, as well as many families facing hardship.

We urge you to act, not just out of compassion, but also commonsense. A resolution is in everyone's interests, not only the tens of thousands of families stuck in the Loan Charge nightmare, but also in the interest of HMRC and the Government, for whom the Loan Charge has become a significant problem, as well as being a wholesale failure as a policy. As well as pushing people to take their own lives and causing numerous mental and family breakdowns, the Loan Charge has failed to stop the promotion of tax avoidance schemes. There is also the central injustice – that those who recommended, promoted and operated these arrangements are not being asked to pay a penny of the disputed tax, but those they missold these arrangements to are being hit with bills they cannot possibly pay.

There will be many bankruptcies if the Government doesn't change course, many people will no longer be able to work (and pay tax) and many more families will have their lives ruined. It simply doesn't make sense as a policy to do this and a resolution is very clearly needed. It is therefore vital that the Treasury now engages with all appropriate parties, including with those facing the Loan Charge and tax sector professionals who have called for a resolution. It must also be genuine engagement on the basis that a resolution and a change of approach are needed.

Even HMRC realise that the Loan Charge is a "debacle". First Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive Jim Harra came up with the phrase the "Loan Charge debacle". He is right and this has gone on for long enough and needs a proper, reasonable solution to resolve this debacle and end the nightmare for thousands of UK families. It is time for the Government to accept that the Loan Charge has been an abject policy failure and that it is not fair in targeting just taxpayers and not the professional advisers and promoters who profited from recommending and operating the schemes.

We therefore urge you to instruct Ministers to seek a fair resolution and to properly engage with all parties and consider all options to resolve this issue, fairly and practically, once and for all so that an end can be put to this nightmare for tens of thousands of UK families.

Yours sincerely,

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP
Rt Hon the Lord Butler of Brockwell
Stuart McDonald MP
Rt Hon Dame Eleanor Laing MP
Henry Smith MP

Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP

Greg Smith MP
Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP
Chris Stephens MP
Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Kenny Macaskill MP
Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP

Rt Hon the Baroness Kramer Kim Johnson MP Allan Dorans MP Christine Jardine MP Rt Hon David Jones MP Amy Callaghan MP Stephen Hammond MP
Marion Fellows MP
Lord Sharkey

Alison Thewliss MP Layla Moran MP Derek Twigg MP Sarah Green MP

Drew Hendry MP

Rt Hon Sir John Hayes MP Carol Monaghan MP Gregory Campbell MP Jamie Stone MP

Patrick Grady MP

Liz Saville Roberts AS / MP Daisy Cooper MP

Wendy Chamberlain MP

Tony Lloyd MP
Angela Crawley MP
Ian Paisley MP

Marsha de Cordova MP

Fiona Bruce MP Neil Coyle MP Richard Foord MP

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Simon Fell MP

Douglas Chapman MP
David Linden MP
Dave Doogan MP

Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP Claudia Webbe MP Siobhain McDonagh MP Sir Graham Brady MP

Lord Moylan

Charlotte Nichols MP Geraint Davies MP Virendra Sharma MP Clive Efford MP Neale Hanvey MP Danny Kruger MP Angus MacNeil MP

Martyn Day MP

Rt Hon David Davis MP

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Sikka

Mohammad Yasin MP Sarah Olney MP Stephen Metcalfe MP Dan Carden MP

Graham Stringer MP

Gordon Henderson MP

Caroline Lucas MP

Rt Hon the Lord Dholakia

Philip Davies MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

Dr Lisa Cameron MP

Christina Rees MP

Paul Girvan MP

Martin Vickers MP

Mike Amesbury MP

John McNally MP

Richard Thomson MP

Munira Wilson MP Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP

Jim Shannon MP

Kirsten Oswald MP

Chris Law MP

Ben Lake MP

Tommy Sheppard MP

Alan Brown MP

Gavin Newlands MP

Emma Hardy MP

Andrew Bridgen MP

Andrea Jenkyns MP

Jonathan Lord MP

Grahame Morris MP

Richard Drax MP Rupa Huq MP
Tim Farron MP Kirsty Blackman MP

Lord Rennard Lord Cashman

John Cryer MP Hannah Bardell MP

Helen Morgan MP Wera Hobhouse MP

Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Lord Tope

Jon Trickett MP Adam Holloway MP Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey Donaldson MP **Baroness Meacher** Mhairi Black MP Baroness Eaton DBE DL Owen Thompson MP Alistair Carmichael MP Wayne David MP Gavin Robinson MP Tim Loughton MP Crispin Blunt MP Rt Hon Dame Diana Johnson MP Karl Turner MP **Derek Thomas MP** Carla Lockhart MP

Stephen Flynn MP
Ronnie Cowan MP
Peter Bone MP
Stewart McDonald MP
Brendan O'Hara MP
Hilary Benn MP
Emma Lewell-Buck MP
Andrew Rosindell MP
John Nicolson MP
Peter Bone MP
Alyn Smith MP
Steven Bonnar MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
James Gray MP