## Open Letter to the Prime Minister and Chancellor regarding The Loan Charge

January 2023

Dear Rishi and Jeremy,

We are writing as concerned Parliamentarians regarding the deeply controversial Loan Charge urging you to agree to seek a resolution to the whole issue, knowing that there have been ten suicides of people facing action from HMRC related to the Loan Charge. The tenth suicide was confirmed in a letter from First Permanent Secretary and CEO of HMRC Jim Harra to the Treasury Select Committee in January 2023.

If the Government does not act to instruct HMRC to change course, we are fearful of what the consequences will be as thousands of people simply cannot pay the huge sums being demanded. The survey conducted by the Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG showed that there is a real risk of more suicides, as well as many families facing hardship.

We urge you to act, not just out of compassion, but also commonsense. A resolution is in everyone's interests, not only the tens of thousands of families stuck in the Loan Charge nightmare, but also in the interest of HMRC and the Government, for whom the Loan Charge has become a significant problem, as well as being a wholesale failure as a policy. As well as pushing people to take their own lives and causing numerous mental and family breakdowns, the Loan Charge has failed to stop the promotion of tax avoidance schemes. There is also the central injustice – that those who recommended, promoted and operated these arrangements are not being asked to pay a penny of the disputed tax, but those they missold these arrangements to are being hit with bills they cannot possibly pay.

There will be many bankruptcies if the Government doesn't change course, many people will no longer be able to work (and pay tax) and many more families will have their lives ruined. It simply doesn't make sense as a policy to do this and a resolution is very clearly needed. It is therefore vital that the Treasury now engages with all appropriate parties, including with those facing the Loan Charge and tax sector professionals who have called for a resolution. It must also be genuine engagement on the basis that a resolution and a change of approach are needed.

Even HMRC realise that the Loan Charge is a "debacle". First Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive Jim Harra came up with the phrase the "Loan Charge debacle". He is right and this has gone on for long enough and needs a proper, reasonable solution to resolve this debacle and end the nightmare for thousands of UK families. It is time for the Government to accept that the Loan Charge has been an abject policy failure and that it is not fair in targeting just taxpayers and not the professional advisers and promoters who profited from recommending and operating the schemes.

We therefore urge you to instruct Ministers to seek a fair resolution and to properly engage with all parties and consider all options to resolve this issue, fairly and practically, once and for all so that an end can be put to this nightmare for tens of thousands of UK families.

## Yours sincerely,

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP
Rt Hon the Lord Butler of Brockwell
Stuart McDonald MP
Rt Hon Dame Eleanor Laing MP
Henry Smith MP

Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP

Greg Smith MP
Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP
Chris Stephens MP
Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Kenny Macaskill MP
Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP

Rt Hon the Baroness Kramer Kim Johnson MP Allan Dorans MP Christine Jardine MP Rt Hon David Jones MP Amy Callaghan MP Stephen Hammond MP Angus MacNeil MP Mike Amesbury MP
Marion Fellows MP Rt Hon David Davis MP Richard Thomson MP
Lord Sharkey Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Sikka

Drew Hendry MP Mohammad Yasin MP Sarah Olney MP
Alison Thewliss MP Stephen Metcalfe MP Dan Carden MP

Layla Moran MP Graham Stringer MP Rebecca Long-Bailey MP
Derek Twigg MP Gordon Henderson MP Dr Lisa Cameron MP
Sarah Green MP Caroline Lucas MP Christina Rees MP
Rt Hon Sir John Hayes MP Rt Hon the Lord Dholakia Paul Girvan MP

Carol Monaghan MP

Gregory Campbell MP

Martyn Day MP

John McNally MP

Jamie Stone MP Munira Wilson MP Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP

Patrick Grady MP Jim Shannon MP Gavin Newlands MP
Liz Saville Roberts AS / MP Kirsten Oswald MP Emma Hardy MP
Daisy Cooper MP Chris Law MP Andrew Bridgen MP
Wendy Chamberlain MP Ben Lake MP Andrea Jenkyns MP

Tony Lloyd MP Tommy Sheppard MP Jonathan Lord MP
Angela Crawley MP Alan Brown MP Grahame Morris MP

Ian Paisley MP Richard Drax MP Rupa Huq MP

Marsha de Cordova MPTim Farron MPKirsty Blackman MPFiona Bruce MPLord RennardLord CashmanNeil Coyle MPJohn Cryer MPHannah Bardell MPRichard Foord MPHelen Morgan MPWera Hobhouse MP

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Lord Tope

Simon Fell MP Jon Trickett MP Adam Holloway MP
Douglas Chapman MP Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey Donaldson MP Baroness Meacher

David Linden MP Mhairi Black MP Baroness Eaton DBE DL
Dave Doogan MP Owen Thompson MP Alistair Carmichael MP
Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP Wayne David MP Gavin Robinson MP

Claudia Webbe MP

Tim Loughton MP

Crispin Blunt MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP

Rt Hon Dame Diana Johnson MP

Karl Turner MP

Derek Thomas MP

Carla Lockhart MP

John Nicolson MP Lord Moylan Stephen Flynn MP Charlotte Nichols MP Ronnie Cowan MP Peter Bone MP Stewart McDonald MP Geraint Davies MP Clive Lewis MP Virendra Sharma MP Brendan O'Hara MP Alyn Smith MP Clive Efford MP Hilary Benn MP Steven Bonnar MP Neale Hanvey MP Emma Lewell-Buck MP Ben Bradshaw MP

Danny Kruger MP Andrew Rosindell MP James Gray MP
Sir Bob Neill MP Hywel Williams MP Nadia Whittome MP

Andrew Western MP William Wragg MP Rt Hon John McDonnell MP

Mick Whitley MP Paul Blomfield MP Jon Cruddas MP

Rt Hon Kevan Jones MP Rt Hon Sir George Howarth MP Debbie Abrahams MP
Margaret Greenwood MP Mr Barry Sheerman MP Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP

Ian Lavery MP Tom Randall MP Rt Hon Sir John Whittingdale MP

Beth Winter MP Ben Bradley MP Olivia Blake MP