

All-Party Parliamentary Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group

www.loanchargeappg.co.uk

AGM of the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group Tuesday 26th April 2023, 4:30pm

Room O, Portcullis House, Westminster, London. SW1A 2JR

Minutes

Those present:

Parliamentarians

Greg Smith MP (Chair), Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Fiona Bruce MP, Marsha De Cordova MP, Dave Doogan MP, Rt Hon Nigel Evans MP, Sarah Green MP, Drew Hendry MP, Adam Holloway MP, Ian Lavery MP, Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP, Rebecca Long-Bailey MP, Grahame Morris MP, Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP, Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP, Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP

MP's Staff

Georgina Casey (Office of Adam Holloway MP), Michael O'Hara (Office of Rt Hon Wendy Morton MP), Ross Playle (Office of Kate Kniveton MP), Andrew Socking (Office of Margaret Greenwood MP)

Other Attendees

Richard Clancey (APPG Secretariat), Greg Mulholland (APPG Secretariat), Steve Packham (Loan Charge Action Group)

Apologies received from

Allan Dorans MP, Baroness Kramer, Ben Lake MP, Sarah Olney MP, Kim Johnson MP, Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP, Crispin Blunt MP, Simon Fell MP, Richard Thomson MP, Rt Hon Wendy Morton MP

1. Introduction

Greg Smith MP opened the meeting and explained that its purpose was to re-form the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness APPG.

2. Annual Accounts

This APPG accounts were reviewed. It was explained that the APPG does not have a bank account and so the Income and Expenditure Statement is shown with 'nil' in all income and expense boxes. The Loan Charge Action Group funded the APPG during the reporting year (7th Jan 2022 to 6th Jan 2023) with a contribution in the range £70,501 - £72,000. All funding is from member subscriptions.

3. Election of Officers

The following officers were unanimously elected:

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP, Baroness Kramer Vice-Chairs: Gerald Jones MP, Sarah Olney MP, Marsha De Cordova MP, Dave Doogan MP, Adam Holloway MP

Role	Name	Party
Co-Chair (Chair & Registered Contact)	Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP	Democratic Unionist Party
Co-Chair	Greg Smith MP	Conservative
Co-Chair	Baroness Susan Kramer	Liberal Democrat
Vice-Chair	Gerald Jones MP	Labour
Vice-Chair	Sarah Olney MP	Liberal Democrat
Vice-Chair	Marsha De Cordova MP	Labour
Vice-Chair	Dave Doogan MP	Scottish National Party
Vice-Chair	Adam Holloway MP	Conservative
Officer	Fleur Anderson MP	Labour
Officer	Henry Smith MP	Conservative
Officer	Alex Sobel MP	Labour
Officer	Mohammad Yasin MP	Labour

4. Appointment of Secretariat

It was agreed that the Loan Charge Action Group be re-appointed as secretariat of the APPG.

5. APPG Activity over previous 12 months

- Jan/Feb-23 Providing emotional support to those who contacted the APPG following news of the tenth suicide
- Jan-23 Open letter to Prime Minister and Chancellor urging them to agree to resolve the Loan Charge (155 signatures)
- Nov-22 Invited candidates for the chair of the Treasury Select Committee to make statements on the issues relevant to the APPG
- Aug-22 Open Letter to Conservative Leader Candidates asking the next PM to pledge to resolve the Loan Charge
- Call for Evidence from people facing the Loan Charge and those who have settled launched 14-Mar-22. 555 submissions were made of which 71% were from people who had not settled. The Average Liability for those who had not settled was £182K. Average settlement was £147K. The submissions will be made available on the APPG's website. Worryingly 15% of these submissions were from people with suicidal thoughts. These are now published on the APPG website -> https://www.loanchargeappg.co.uk/c4e/
- APPG meeting on Taxpayer Fairness with guest speakers from Australia.
- Assisting the drafting of the EDM on the Loan Charge (currently 113 signatures)
- Ongoing Aiding MPs with impacted constituents, Treasury Questions

Correspondence (replies noted)

- 16-Feb Letter to the "Independent Office for Police Conduct" about their investigation of DR related suicides.
 - Response received from IOPC with an explanation of their jurisdiction in relation to HMRC
- 09-Jan Letter to FST on HMRC's failure to abide by the Agency rules.
 - Response from FST & HMRC

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP, Baroness Kramer Vice-Chairs: Gerald Jones MP, Sarah Olney MP, Marsha De Cordova MP, Dave Doogan MP, Adam Holloway MP

- 29-Jul Letter to CX (Nadhim Zahawi MP) on ninth DR suicide and the need to avoid further tragedies
 - Reply received 10-Aug from Chancellor of the Exchequer: Reply stated that Government takes concerns about the wellbeing of taxpayers very seriously. FST working with HMRC on a wider package of emotional and mental support HMRC and will provide the APPG with a more detailed response.
 - Reply received 5-Sep from the Financial Secretary to the Treasury: Reply from the FST which explained the improvements that HMRC are making and how they will signpost taxpayers demonstrating emotional distress to organisations such as MIND and Samaritans
- 14-Jul to FCSA on Holiday pay and changes to their code of practice
 - Reply received 18-Jul-: Didn't feel it was appropriate to respond to the questions raised in our letter as this was published on social media and they did not share the APPG's view that this served the public interest
- 29-Jun Letter to HMRC expressing serious concern at their deliberate decision NOT to pursue promoters of schemes subject to the Loan Charge
 - o **Reply received 25-Jul**: HMRC continue to take action against promoters giving examples
- 26-Apr Letter to FST inviting her to an Open meeting with the APPG
 - Reply received 23-May: Would like to meet with co-chairs to discuss changes being made by HMRC

6. Suggested Activity

- i) Ongoing activity to expose the reality of the Loan Charge, its impact on people and to seek to persuade the Government to revisit the issue / back a fair resolution including:
 - Meeting with the Financial Secretary to the Treasury
 - Raising sufficient support for a debate in the main chamber (the previous was cut short because of a leaking roof)
- ii) Issues with Umbrella Companies
- iii) IR35 Off-payroll rules effects
- iv) Ongoing HMRC 'war on contracting'

7. AOB

The Chair & Sammy Wilson MP thanked both the Secretariat and the Loan Charge Action Group for their support of the APPG.

8. Date of next meeting

TBA

Meeting Closed at 17:00