

All-Party Parliamentary Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group

www.loanchargeappg.co.uk

EGM of the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group and APPG meeting with Ray McCann

Tuesday 29th April 2025, 3:00pm Meeting Room 391, Portcullis House

Minutes

Those present:

Parliamentarians

Greg Smith MP (Chair), Richard Baker MP, Sarah Bool MP, Andrew Cooper MP, Emily Darlington MP, Rt Hon Sir David Davis, James Frith MP, Claire Hughes MP, Baroness Kramer, Rt Hon Sir Julian Lewis MP, Michelle Scrogham MP, Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP, Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP

MPs Staff

Ulysse Abbate (Office of Sarah Olney MP), Matt Costello (Office of Anneliese Midgley MP), Ian Kelly (Office of Greg Smith MP), Emily Marr (Office of Richard Baker MP), Jacob Sinkins (Office of Steff Aquarone MP), Anna White (Office of Vikki Slade MP)

Guests Ray McCann, Nick Edmonds – Lead of the Review Secretariat

Other Attendees

Richard Clancey (APPG Secretariat), Greg Mulholland (APPG Secretariat)

Apologies received from

Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP, Kim Johnson MP, Sarah Olney MP, Joshua Reynolds MP

1. Introduction

Greg Smith MP opened the meeting and explained that it had two sections and purposes:

- Elect a new officer to the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness APPG
- To meet with, hear from and ask questions of Ray McCann, regarding his current review of Loan Charge settlements.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Sarah Olney MP

Office of Sammy Wilson MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA contact@loanchargeappg.co.uk

2. Change of Officer

Greg Smith MP told the meeting that Karl Turner MP had resigned as an officer of the APPG and thanked him for his service and support. Sarah Olney MP had offered to stand in his place.

A vote was held and Sarah Olney MP was elected as Vice-Chair unanimously.

Officers of the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness APPG are therefore now:

Role	Name	Party
Co-Chair (Chair & Registered Contact)	Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP	Democratic Unionist Party
Co-Chair	Greg Smith MP	Conservative
Vice-Chair	Emily Darlington MP	Labour
Vice-Chair	Sarah Olney MP	Liberal Democrat

3. APPG Correspondence

The following letters have been sent by the APPG since the last meeting on 10th September 2024.

2024-11-13 Letter to the Chancellor about a Taxpayer Advocate Service 2024-12-19 Letter to the Chancellor about a fresh Loan Charge Review 2025-02-26 Letter to the Chancellor with questions about the Loan Charge Review 2025-04-28 Letter to the Chancellor about HMRC Counter Avoidance Letters

A full list of correspondence is available on the group's website here

4. Main business – The McCann Review into Loan Charge settlements

- a. The Chair, Greg Smith, introduced the main business and guests and gave an overview of what the McCann Review is looking at, quoting the restricted terms of reference which is focused to only consider individual settlements (and how to persuade people to settle with HMRC). The Chair made the point that the McCann Review, commissioned by the Treasury, is very different from the full, independent inquiry the APPG had called for, but welcomed the guests and the opportunity to hear from Ray about the McCann Review.
- **Ray McCann** is leading the review. He has almost fifty years of experience of UK and international tax that includes 31 years with HMRC in senior positions. After HMRC Ray had roles in PwC and was a Partner with the law firm Pinsent Masons. Ray is a Chartered Tax Adviser (fellow) and past President of the Chartered Institute of Taxation.
- **Nick Edmonds** has been appointed to lead the Secretariat team supporting Ray to deliver the independent Review.
- b. Ray McCann gave an overview of the review.
- c. There was then a question and answer session with Parliamentarians asking questions about how Ray McCann would be conducting various aspects of the review. The questions and points included examples of how MPs' own constituents are affected.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Sarah Olney MP

Office of Sammy Wilson MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA contact@loanchargeappg.co.uk

5. AOB

No other business

Meeting Closed at 4:15pm.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Sarah Olney MP

Office of Sammy Wilson MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA contact@loanchargeappg.co.uk