URGENT OPEN LETTER TO MEL STRIDE MP ON THE LOAN CHARGE

Dear Mel,

We are writing an urgent letter to you, following the debate on the Loan Charge, due to the unfortunate suspension of the House of Commons which prevented the debate being concluded and hearing from you, as the responsible Minister.

This is most unfortunate and we had hoped – as so many MPs stressed in the debate – to hear you announce that the Government will suspend the Loan Charge for 6 months to allow for an independent review, as the motion proposed.

We are writing to you, as a matter of urgency, to ask you to announce this delay, with the Loan Charge due to come in tomorrow, Friday 5th April.

The will of the House of Commons was clear, with many Conservative MPs criticising the Loan Charge and making clear they supported the motion. As you know, there have been suicides of people affected by the Loan Charge. With the huge anxiety thousands of people are facing, we believe that a pause and a review is vital and the right and responsible thing to do. You cannot deny any longer the huge weight of concern amongst MPs, including many in your own party: it was clear today that the Loan Charge in its current form is not supported by a majority of MPs. We urge you, as the Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP said, to listen to and act upon the will of the House.

We urge you to do the right thing and announce an immediate suspension of the Loan Charge. The debate will still need to be concluded and a date scheduled, but with the Loan Charge coming in tomorrow, this cannot wait till then. We therefore urge you to announce this today to give peace of mind to thousands of people and their families and allow for a proper review.

If you do not do this – and we sincerely hope you will – then when the debate is concluded, we are minded to push the motion to a vote to demand that you change course and suspend the Loan Charge. We hope that this will not be necessary and that you will, as we had hoped today in the debate, now announce a 6 month delay.

Ross Thomson MP Rt Hon Sir Edward Davey MP Ruth Cadbury MP Richard Harrington MP Philip Davies MP Catherine West MP Jon Cruddas MP Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Janet Daby MP Anna Turley MP Anne Main MP James Frith MP Kate Hoey MP Damien Moore MP Ruth George MP Tonia Antoniazzi MP Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP John Grogan MP Andrew Rosindell MP Peter Bone MP

John Woodcock MP Rt Hon Sir Hugo Swire MP Jonathan Edwards MP Tulip Siddia MP Nigel Evans MP Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable MP Lady Sylvia Hermon MP Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP Barry Sheerman MP Ian Murray MP Dan Jarvis MP Joseph Johnson MP Jim Fitzpatrick MP Dr Phillip Lee MP Tommy Sheppard MP Alex Sobel MP Andrea Jenkyns MP Sir Peter Bottomley MP Caroline Lucas MP Zac Goldsmith MP John Cryer MP Paul Farrelly MP Jim Cunningham MP Dr David Drew MP Gareth Thomas MP Matthew Pennycook MP Seema Malhotra MP Stephen Metcalfe MP Rt Hon Richard Benyon MP Sir Graham Brady MP Dr Sarah Wollaston MP Martin Vickers MP Rushanara Ali MP **Rosie Cooper MP** Neil Coyle MP Kelvin Hopkins MP Dr Paul Williams MP **Crispin Blunt MP** Jacob Rees-Mogg MP Emma Dent Coad MP George Eustice MP Rt Hon Justine Greening MP Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP Stephen Twigg MP **Richard Drax MP** Roger Godsiff MP Rt Hon Joan Ryan MP

Rt Hon Tom Brake MP Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swavne MP Teresa Pearce MP Marsha de Cordova MP Sir William Cash MP Adam Hollowav MP Martin Whitfield MP Rt Hon Jain Duncan Smith MP Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP Dr Andrew Murrison MP Rt Hon Dominic Raab MP Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron MP Mohammad Yasin MP Stephen Pound MP Siobhain McDonagh MP Preet Kaur Gill MP James Gray MP Alex Cunningham MP Gordon Henderson MP Laurence Robertson MP Stephen Kinnock MP Chris Green MP Alan Brown MP **Richard Burden MP** Mary Creagh MP Bob Stewart MP Karen Buck MP Rt Hon David Hanson MP Julian Sturdy MP Virendra Sharma MP Wera Hobhouse MP Stephen Lloyd MP Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP Derek Thomas MP Christian Matheson MP Tim Farron MP Andrew Selous MP Gareth Snell MP Ben Bradley MP Dennis Skinner MP Nic Dakin MP **Toby Perkins MP** Jess Phillips MP Ellie Reeves MP Rt Hon David Davis MP Dr Matthew Offord MP

Wes Streeting MP Tracy Brabin MP Mike Gapes MP Dr Rupa Hug MP Henry Smith MP Roberta Blackman-Woods MP Faisal Rashid MP Adrian Bailey MP Fabian Hamilton MP Catherine McKinnell MP Christine Jardine MP Steve Baker MP Neil Parish MP Rt Hon Frank Field MP Paul Blomfield MP Emma Little-Pengelly MP Helen Hayes MP Bob Blackman MP Ian Paisley MP Gavin Robinson MP Lavla Moran MP Robert Neill MP Rosie Duffield MP Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP Sir Henry Bellingham MP Geraint Davies MP Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP Hugh Gaffney MP Ben Lake MP Ivan Lewis MP Hywel Williams MP Marcus Fysh MP

Matt Western MP Sarah Jones MP Derek Twigg MP Chris Elmore MP Rt Hon Sir Oliver Heald MP Emma Lewell-Buck MP John Lamont MP Stewart Malcolm McDonald MP Rt Hon Mark Tami MP Carolyn Harris MP Angus MacNeil MP Angela Smith MP Fiona Bruce MP Andrew Bridgen MP Shailesh Vara MP Jessica Morden MP Alex Chalk MP Andy Slaughter MP Lucy Allan MP Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP Jo Swinson MP Jamie Stone MP Mike Hill MP Simon Clarke MP Graham P Jones MP Kate Green MP Dr Rosena Allin-Khan MP **Robert Courts MP** Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP David TC Davies MP Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP Gavin Newlands MP

April 4th 2019