## URGENT OPEN LETTER TO JESSE NORMAN MP ON THE LOAN CHARGE

Dear Minister,

We are writing an urgent letter to you in your new position as the Financial Secretary to the Treasury.

On the  $11^{\text{th}}$  April at the conclusion of the Loan Charge Debate the House voted in favour of the motion. The Will of the House is clearly for an immediate suspension of the Loan Charge and an independent review of this legislation.

Many Conservative MPs have criticised the Loan Charge as well as MPs from other parties. As you will be aware, there have been suicides of people affected by the Loan Charge. With the huge anxiety thousands of people are facing, we believe that a pause and a review is vital and the right and responsible thing to do. You must take notice of the huge weight of concern amongst MPs, including many in your own party. It was clear in the debate on the 4<sup>th</sup> and the 11<sup>th</sup> April, that the Loan Charge in its current form is not supported by a majority of MPs. We urge you, as the Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP said, to listen to and act upon the Will of the House. It is clear from their debate on 29<sup>th</sup> April that the House of Lords takes the same view.

We urge you to announce a 6-month delay today to give peace of mind to thousands of people and their families and to allow for a proper review.

Ross Thomson MP

Rt Hon Sir Edward Davey MP

Ruth Cadbury MP Baroness Kramer

Richard Harrington MP

Philip Davies MP Catherine West MP Jon Cruddas MP

Rt Hon Esther McVey MP

Janet Daby MP
Anna Turley MP
Anne Main MP
James Frith MP
Kate Hoey MP
Damien Moore MP
Ruth George MP
Tonia Antoniazzi MP

Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP

John Grogan MP Andrew Rosindell MP Peter Bone MP John Woodcock MP Jonathan Edwards MP

Tulip Siddiq MP Nigel Evans MP

Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable MP Lady Sylvia Hermon MP

Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP

Barry Sheerman MP Ian Murray MP Dan Jarvis MP

Joseph Johnson MP Jim Fitzpatrick MP Dr Phillip Lee MP Tommy Sheppard MP

Alex Sobel MP

Paul Farrelly MP

Andrea Jenkyns MP
Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Caroline Lucas MP
Zac Goldsmith MP
John Cryer MP

Jim Cunningham MP
Dr David Drew MP
Gareth Thomas MP
Matthew Pennycook MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Stephen Metcalfe MP

Rt Hon Richard Benyon MP Sir Graham Brady MP Dr Sarah Wollaston MP Martin Vickers MP Rushanara Ali MP

Rosie Cooper MP
Neil Coyle MP
Kelvin Hopkins MP
Dr Paul Williams MP
Crispin Blunt MP
Jacob Rees-Mogg MP

Emma Dent Coad MP

George Eustice MP

Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP

Stephen Twigg MP
Richard Drax MP
Roger Godsiff MP
Rt Hon Joan Ryan MP
Rt Hon Tom Brake MP

Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP

Teresa Pearce MP Marsha de Cordova MP Sir William Cash MP Adam Holloway MP Martin Whitfield MP

Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP Dr Andrew Murrison MP Rt Hon Dominic Raab MP Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron MP Mohammad Yasin MP Stephen Pound MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP Preet Kaur Gill MP James Gray MP

Alex Cunningham MP
Gordon Henderson MP
Laurence Robertson MP
Stephen Kinnock MP
Chris Green MP

Alan Brown MP Richard Burden MP Mary Creagh MP Bob Stewart MP Karen Buck MP

Rt Hon David Hanson MP

Julian Sturdy MP Virendra Sharma MP Wera Hobhouse MP Stephen Lloyd MP

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP

Derek Thomas MP Christian Matheson MP

Tim Farron MP
Andrew Selous MP
Gareth Snell MP
Ben Bradley MP
Dennis Skinner MP
Nic Dakin MP
Toby Perkins MP
Jess Phillips MP
Ellie Reeves MP

Rt Hon David Davis MP Dr Matthew Offord MP Wes Streeting MP Tracy Brabin MP Mike Gapes MP Dr Rupa Hug MP

Henry Smith MP

Roberta Blackman-Woods MP

Faisal Rashid MP
Adrian Bailey MP
Fabian Hamilton MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Christine Jardine MP
Steve Baker MP

Rt Hon Frank Field MP Paul Blomfield MP

Neil Parish MP

Emma Little-Pengelly MP

Helen Hayes MP Bob Blackman MP Ian Paisley MP Gavin Robinson MP Layla Moran MP Robert Neill MP Rosie Duffield MP

Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP

Sir Henry Bellingham MP

Geraint Davies MP

Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP

Hugh Gaffney MP

Ben Lake MP Ivan Lewis MP

. ..

Hywel Williams MP Marcus Fysh MP

Matt Western MP

Sarah Jones MP

Derek Twigg MP

Chris Elmore MP

Rt Hon Sir Oliver Heald MP

Emma Lewell-Buck MP

John Lamont MP

Stewart Malcolm McDonald MP

Rt Hon Mark Tami MP

Carolyn Harris MP

Angus MacNeil MP

Angela Smith MP

Andrew Bridgen MP

Allaicw bliagell W

Shailesh Vara MP Alex Chalk MP

Andy Slaughter MP

Lucy Allan MP

Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP

Jo Swinson MP

Jamie Stone MP

Mike Hill MP

Simon Clarke MP

Graham P Jones MP

Kate Green MP

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan MP

Robert Courts MP

Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP

David TC Davies MP

Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP

Gavin Newlands MP

Jonathan Lord MP

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Drew Hendry MP

William Wragg MP Rt Hon Robert Halfon MP

Jo Stevens MP

Fiona Bruce MP

Ranil Jayawardena MP

Rt Hon Ann Clwyd MP

Brendan O'Hara MP

Lord Lee of Trafford Tan Dhesi MP

Patrick Grady MP

Dame Louise Ellman MP

Rt Hon John Whittingdale MP

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Chris Leslie MP

Mark Menzies MP

Kemi Badenoch MP

Carol Monaghan MP

Lucy Powell MP

Sheryll Murray MP

Rt Hon Sir Alan Campbell MP

Stephen Hepburn MP

Rt Hon Damian Green MP

Jeremy Lefroy MP

Royston Smith MP

Sir Robert Syms MP

Gavin Shuker MP

Luciana Berger MP

Graham Stringer MP

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP

Bim Afolami MP

Andrew Bowie MP

James Heappey MP

Rt Hon David Mundell MP

Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP

Craig Whittaker MP

Harriett Baldwin MP

Rt Hon Sir Hugo Swire MP

May 30<sup>th</sup> 2019