Urgent Open Letter to The Chancellor of the Exchequer calling for an immediate suspension of the Loan Charge and associated HMRC activity

25th September 2019

Dear Chancellor,

We are writing this urgent letter to you calling for an immediate suspension of both the Loan Charge and other related HMRC activities, including APNs, until the Loan Charge Review has concluded and the Government has implemented its recommendations.

This is vital for two reasons. First of all, it is quite wrong and undermines the whole basis of the independent review for HMRC to continue pursuing people for arrangements subject to the Loan Charge. Assuming that this is a genuine review, the Loan Charge may be changed as a result, so it is wrong that people do not know if they may be later penalised for not settling now, whilst not knowing whether they will face the Loan Charge in its current form or not. A suspension of the Loan Charge and all associated activity is clearly fundamental to a genuine review.

Secondly and most importantly, an immediate suspension is vital due to the serious risk of suicide, if the Loan Charge is not suspended and if associated APNs are not put on hold. The delay that the Treasury have announced, not to the Loan Charge or APNs, but only to the process of finalising settlements, is inadequate and risks further suicides. (Six suicides of people facing the Loan Charge have been reported directly to the Loan Charge APPG). Now the Loan Charge Action Group volunteer helpline has reported an alarming increase in the number of calls of people reporting suicidal thoughts. This is as a result of people realising that despite the review, the threat of the Loan Charge remains in place and, in particular, that they are still being pursed for related APNs. It is simply outrageous, as well as reckless, for HMRC (or any appointed debt enforcement agencies) to continue to pursue people for APNs that are linked to schemes subject to the Loan Charge, whilst a review is taking place. In recent weeks, HMRC have clearly stepped up enforcement of outstanding APN's linked to loan schemes. HMRC's actions are contrary to the spirit of the announced delay to settlements and the review and are unreasonable and dangerous. We are urging you to instruct HMRC to cease all such action immediately.

Since the Loan Charge debate in the House of Commons, over 200 MPs signed up to the previous open letter which called for such a suspension of the Loan Charge and an independent review and over 100 MPs have written personal letters to the Prime Minister or the Chancellor supporting the calls for a suspension. It is notable that eight Ministers in the current Government, including three Cabinet Ministers, including the Prime Minister, have previously publicly supported a suspension.

So we call on you to announce a complete suspension of the Loan Charge, of HMRC debt enforcement for any signed settlements and for any outstanding APN's. This must include all interest or penalties. The suspension must continue for as long as the review lasts as well as for the review recommendations to be considered and responded to by the Government, and to be implemented. The appropriate length of the review must also be decided by the independent Reviewer free of any external pressures. Only by making this announcement can the Government give peace of mind to thousands of people, and their families, and to allow for a proper and thorough review.

Yours sincerely,

Rt Hon Sir Edward Davey MP Ross Thomson MP Ruth Cadbury MP Baroness Kramer Teresa Pearce MP

Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP

Preet Kaur Gill MP Helen Hayes MP Nigel Evans MP Mary Creagh MP Dr David Drew MP

Nic Dakin MP

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Catherine West MP Anna Turley MP Jon Cruddas MP

Rt Hon Sir Alan Campbell MP

Robert Neill MP
Kate Green MP
Jeremy Lefroy MP
Stephen Lloyd MP
Emma Lewell-Buck MP
Jonathan Edwards MP
Laurence Robertson MP

Neil Coyle MP

Rt Hon Tom Brake MP Gavin Shuker MP Ivan Lewis MP Adrian Bailey MP Richard Burden MP Ian Murray MP

Tulip Siddiq MP Wes Streeting MP Andrew Rosindell MP Luciana Berger MP Bob Blackman MP

Roger Godsiff MP Jo Stevens MP

Rt Hon David Davis MP Jim Fitzpatrick MP

Gareth Snell MP Luke Graham MP Geraint Davies MP

Richard Harrington MP

Dan Jarvis MP
Ruth George MP
Mike Gapes MP
John Woodcock MP
Dame Louise Ellman MP
Jim Cunningham MP
Angela Smith MP

Rt Hon Amber Rudd MP

Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP

Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP

Andrea Jenkyns MP

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP

Jamie Stone MP Hugh Gaffney MP Alex Sobel MP

Martin Whitfield MP Stephen Twigg MP

Sir Henry Bellingham MP
Tonia Antoniazzi MP
Julian Sturdy MP
Richard Graham MP
Martin Vickers MP
Dr Sarah Wollaston MP

Christine Jardine MP Paul Girvan MP Wera Hobhouse MP Mark Menzies MP Andrew Bridgen MP

Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable MP

Rushanara Ali MP

Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

Layla Moran MP David T. C. Davies MP

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Bambos Charalambous MP

Philip Davies MP Shailesh Vara MP Gavin Newlands MP Jim Shannon MP

Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP Matthew Pennycook MP Adam Holloway MP Andy Slaughter MP Virendra Sharma MP Dr Paul Williams MP Carol Monaghan MP

Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP Stephen Hammond MP

Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP

Derek Thomas MP Stephen Metcalfe MP

Shabana Mahmood MP

Craig Whittaker MP

Anne Main MP

Rt Hon David Hanson MP Rt Hon Sir Hugo Swire MP

Ben Lake MP

Rt Hon Liz Saville Roberts MP

Hywel Williams MP Emma Dent Coad MP James Gray MP

John Grogan MP

Paul Farrelly MP Janet Daby MP

Dr Matthew Offord MP Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron MP

Anna McMorrin MP

Rt Hon Sir Nicholas Soames MP

Mohammad Yasin MP

Neil Parish MP Sir William Cash MP Peter Bone MP Alan Brown MP Chris Elmore MP

Rt Hon Nigel Dodds MP

Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP

Chris Leslie MP

Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP Harriett Baldwin MP Crispin Blunt MP James Frith MP

Gordon Henderson MP William Wragg MP Andrew Selous MP Dr Phillip Lee MP Rt Hon Frank Field MP

Tim Farron MP Toby Perkins MP

Rt Hon Richard Benyon MP

Justin Madders MP Hannah Bardell MP

Emma Little-Pengelly MP

Brendan O'Hara MP
Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Chris Williamson MP
Kelvin Hopkins MP
Ellie Reeves MP

Barry Sheerman MP Graham P Jones MP Lucy Powell MP Graham Stringer MP

Vernon Coaker MP

Henry Smith MP

Mike Hill MP

Drew Hendry MP
Tracy Brabin MP
John Cryer MP
Chris Stephens MP
David Simpson MP
Maria Caulfield MP
Rosie Cooper MP

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Gavin Robinson MP Gregory Campbell MP John McNally MP Rt Hon Mark Tami MP

Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods MP

David Linden MP Stephen Pound MP Martyn Day MP

Angela Crawley MP

Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP

Jess Phillips MP
Sheryll Murray MP
Siobhain McDonagh MP

Kate Hoey MP
Dr Rupa Huq MP
Richard Drax MP
Marion Fellows MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Marsha De Cordova MP
Andrew Bowie MP
Carolyn Harris MP

Rt Hon David Mundell MP

Karl Turner MP Fabian Hamilton MP Sir Graham Brady MP

Chris Law MP Ian Paisley MP

Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP Conor McGinn MP Marie Rimmer MP

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan MP Kerry McCarthy MP Karen Buck MP

Baroness Harris of Richmond