Loan Charge All Party Parliamentary Group AGM

Tuesday 25th May 2021, 10:30am-11:00am Meeting by Zoom Call

Minutes

Those present:

Parliamentarians

Ruth Cadbury MP (Co-Chair), Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP (Vice-Chair), Baroness Susan Kramer (Vice-Chair), Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Wendy Chamberlain MP, James Daly MP, Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan-Smith MP, Dr Rupa Huq MP, Christine Jardine MP, Gerald Jones MP, Julie Marson MP, Gavin Newlands MP, Steve Reed MP, Greg Smith MP, Alex Sobel MP, Chris Stephens MP, James Wild MP, Munira Wilson MP.

MP's Staff

Alistair Alexander (Ruth Cadbury MP), Matthew Spencer (Dr Lisa Cameron MP), Ferdy Willans (Karen Bradley MP).

Other Attendees

Wendy Rabin (APPG Secretariat), Richard Clancey (APPG Secretariat), Greg Mulholland (APPG Secretariat), Steve Packham (LCAG).

Apologies received from:

Matthew Pennycook MP, Drew Hendry MP, Ian Murray MP, Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP, Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP, Tommy Sheppard MP, Alan Brown MP.

1. Introduction

Ruth Cadbury delivered a Chair's report and explained she is standing down as a Co-Chair, as are fellow Co-Chairs Sir Ed Davey and Sir Mike Penning and Vice-Chair Owen Thompson.

The Chair's report reported that it had been an eventful year dealing with the Loan Charge. There had been considerable support for the report on "How Contracting Should Work" and finance bill amendments had been raised as a result. However there was still a lot of work to be done.

2. Accounts

The accounts were reviewed. It was explained that the APPG receives no income, the Loan Charge Action Group (LCAC) as the appointed Secretariat funds the administrative and professional costs of running the APPG. All LCAG funding is from members' subscriptions (with members being people affected by the Loan Charge).

Accounts were agreed by all

3. Election of Officers

The following Officers were unanimously elected:

| Co-Chair (Chair & Registered Contact) Co-Chair Co-Chair | Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Greg Smith MP Mohammad Yasin MP | Democratic Unionist Party Conservative Labour |
|--|--|---|
| Vice-Chair | Dr Lisa Cameron MP | Scottish National Party |
| Vice-Chair | Sarah Olney MP | Liberal Democrat |
| Vice-Chair | Gerald Jones MP | Labour |
| Vice-Chair | Baroness Susan Kramer | Liberal Democrat |
| Vice-Chair | Rushanara Ali MP | Labour |
| Officer | Fleur Anderson MP | Labour |
| Officer | Alex Sobel MP | Labour |

The outgoing officers, Ruth Cadbury, Sir Ed Davey, Sir Mike Penning and Owen Thompson were thanked for their service to the APPG.

4. Purpose & Name of the APPG

It was agreed that going forward the name would become "Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG". Proposed by Sammy Wilson, Seconded by Greg Smith.

This will entail a slight change to the written purpose of the APPG.

5. Appointment of Secretariat

It was agreed that LCAG be re-appointed as secretariat of the APPG

6. Initial programme of activity

It was agreed that the APPG next steps were

- i. A letter for Parliamentarians to sign about the need for a resolution to the Loan Charge issue
- ii. An APPG letter about recent Freedom of Information responses that exposed
 - a. HMRC know they do not have legal precedent for pursuing individuals
 - b. HMRC and not the Treasury came up with the idea of the retrospective Loan Charge

7. Next Actions

- Secretariat to share registration form with Officers for approval to then submit.
- Secretariat to draft and send letters as above.
- Secretariat to arrange planning session for programme of activity.

8. AOB

Ruth Cadbury thanked Greg Mulholland & LCAG for their support of both MPs and victims of the Loan Charge. She was particularly fearful for those people who do not yet know they are impacted by this legislation and requested that Parliamentarians be dealt with in an unemotional manner and let the facts of this injustice "speak for themselves"