Open Letter To The Prime Minister And Chancellor On The Loan Charge

July 2021

Dear Prime Minister and Chancellor,

We are writing, as Parliamentarians who remain very concerned about the Loan Charge and its inevitable devastating impact on thousands of UK families. If the Government does not act to instruct HMRC to change course, then we are fearful of what the consequences will be when HMRC enforce the Loan Charge.

New information has come to light that further highlights the injustice people are facing that should lead to the Government accepting that further changes are needed, both to avoid the otherwise disastrous consequences of allowing HMRC to enforce the Loan Charge and to bring a fair and just resolution to what remains a deeply controversial policy.

Three very significant things have been revealed by recent Freedom of Information requests:

1. That HMRC tried and failed to find legal precedent for them being permitted to pursue individuals, rather than employers

First Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive of HMRC Jim Harra has admitted (<u>in an internal email</u> <u>to senior colleagues</u>) "In recent months I have repeatedly tried to obtain legal analysis to understand the strength of our claim with very little success".

- This undermines the claim that that the Loan Charge is based on the outcome of legal cases. The reality is that the Supreme Court judgment in the Glasgow Rangers' case in 2017, often wrongly cited as legal precedent for the Loan Charge, deemed <u>employers</u> to be liable for any tax deemed to be avoided. This decision did <u>not</u> give HMRC the right to directly pursue individual contractors.
- It also fundamentally undermines the conclusion of the Morse report, which claimed 'the law was always clear' from December 2010, when HMRC themselves can't prove that.

2. It was HMRC who came up with the idea of the Loan Charge, not the Treasury

Ministers should decide policy, yet HMRC developed the idea of the Loan Charge <u>and proposed it in</u> <u>advice to Treasury ministers</u> in September 2015. It is also clear that HMRC proposed the Loan Charge as they had failed to win court cases allowing them to pursue individuals, which is the <u>opposite</u> of the impression given.

3. Even HMRC realise that the Loan Charge is a "debacle".

First Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive Jim Harra calls it the "Loan Charge debacle". He is right and this has gone on for long enough and needs a proper, reasonable solution to resolve this debacle and end the nightmare for thousands of UK families.

The need for a fair resolution to avoid thousands of bankruptcies

Most people facing the Loan Charge are clearly <u>victims of mis-selling</u>, having been assured that schemes were fully compliant and given no warning by advisers and scheme promoters of any risk.

There have been no convictions and no prosecutions of anyone for promoting/operating loan schemes nor have promoters/operators of schemes been asked to pay a penny, despite making millions.

If HMRC enforce the Loan Charge, it will inevitably lead to thousands of bankruptcies, which makes no sense at all, each one has a cost to the taxpayer and in many cases, for many affected, being declared bankrupt will prevent them from working again or paying any taxes. We are also concerned about the mental health impact, with the fact that there have been suicides of people facing the Loan Charge previously.

We urge you to finally accept that the Loan Charge is not fair and to consider all options to resolve this issue, fairly and practically, once and for all, to end this nightmare for tens of thousands of UK families but also to get HMRC out of the situation they are in, having failed to predict the impact of the Loan Charge. We hope that the Government will explore all options for resolving 'the Loan Charge debacle' which would finally allow the Government, parliamentarians and families affected, to move on.

Yours sincerely,

Mohammad Yasin MP Dr Matthew Offord MP **Baroness Meacher** Alan Brown MP Rt Hon Sir Ed Davey MP Angela Crawley MP Marion Fellows MP Kenny MacAskill MP Neale Hanvey MP Andrew Rosindell MP Drew Hendry MP Wera Hobhouse MP Margaret Ferrier MP Layla Moran MP **Chris Stephens MP** Hywel Williams MP Paul Girvan MP Neil Coyle MP Gregory Campbell MP **Derek Thomas MP** Adam Holloway MP Philip Hollobone MP **Deirdre Brock MP** Dan Carden MP Geraint Davies MP Andrew Bridgen MP Dave Doogan MP James Gray MP Stephen Hammond MP Rt Hon Sir Mike Penning MP

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP Dr Lisa Cameron MP John McNally MP Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP **Richard Thomson MP** Ben Lake MP **Christine Jardine MP** Henry Smith MP Colum Eastwood MP **Tim Farron MP** Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Desmond Swayne MP Gavin Newlands MP Gavin Robinson MP Christina Rees MP Munira Wilson MP Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP Rt Hon Esther McVey MP Stephen Metcalfe MP Chris Law MP Graham Stringer MP Ben Everritt MP Jon Cruddas MP William Wragg MP Rosie Cooper MP Carol Monaghan MP Brendan O'Hara MP Grahame Morris MP Martyn Day MP Sir Bob Neill MP

Greg Smith MP Stewart McDonald MP **Crispin Blunt MP** Ian Paisley MP Allan Dorans MP Sarah Olney MP Carla Lockhart MP Wendy Chamberlain MP Jamie Stone MP Tommy Sheppard MP Andy Slaughter MP **Baroness Kramer** Rt Hon Dr Julian Lewis MP **Owen Thompson MP** Liz Saville Roberts MP Angus B MacNeil MP Daisy Cooper MP Andrew Gwynne MP Rt Hon Sir Iain Duncan Smith Jim Shannon MP David Jones MP Peter Bone MP Amy Callaghan MP Claire Hanna MP Sir Peter Bottomley MP Alison Thewlis MP Fiona Bruce MP Ronnie Cowan MP Hannah Bardell MP Lord Sharkey

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP Baroness Bowles Steven Bonnar MP Douglas Chapman MP Clive Lewis MP Emma Lewell-Buck MP Stephen Flynn MP Patrick Grady MP Paul Blomfield MP Rt Hon David Davis MP John McDonnell MP Tony Lloyd MP Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Dholakia Caroline Lucas MP Gordon Henderson MP Anne McLaughlin MP Philip Davies MP Sir Roger Gale MP Martin Docherty-Hughes MP Rupa Huq MP Emma Hardy MP Karl Turner MP Claudia Webbe MP David Linden MP Martin Vickers MP Virendra Sharma MP Dr Philippa Whitford MP Kirsten Oswald MP Rosie Duffield MP John Nicolson MP Sir Graham Brady MP Ben Bradshaw MP Kim Johnson MP Ian Mearns MP