The All-Party Parliamentary Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness Group (Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG) is an official Parliamentary Group comprising of Parliamentarians of all parties from both Houses of Parliament. Members of the APPG have concerns about the nature and impact of the ‘2019 Loan Charge’ and they also have concerns about the wider context of fairness of tax legislation and about HMRC’s conduct in enforcing it.

The inaugural meeting of the Loan Charge APPG in the current parliament was held on 7th January 2020 when Parliamentarians voted to form the Group and to appoint the officers. The Loan Charge and Taxpayer APPG is the successor to the previous Loan Charge APPG which was established in the last parliament in January 2019.

Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG Officers

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP, Co-Chair
MP for East Antrim (Democratic Unionist Party)


Greg Smith MP, Co-Chair
MP for Buckingham (Conservative)


Marsha De Cordova MP, Vice-Chair
MP for Battersea (Labour)


Sarah Green MP

Sarah Green MP, Vice-Chair
MP for Chesham and Amersham (Liberal Democrat)

Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG Members


Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG Meetings

The APPG meets a few times per year.  Next Meeting is TBA

The last meeting was the AGM on Tuesday 30th April 2024 at 3:00pm.

Minutes of previous APPG meetings can be found on the publications page.

Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness APPG Secretariat

The Loan Charge Action Group (LCAG) is the appointed Secretariat to the APPG. LCAG is an independent action group representing thousands of people facing the Loan Charge, funded by individual subscriptions from the members of LCAG.  More information may be found here.  The website of the Action Group is

Secretariat Contact:

Richard Clancey,


Officers portraits are reproduced unaltered from and used here under an Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) licence.


Any parliamentarian can become a member of the Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness All-Party Parliamentary Group.

Contact us